Visit the Delegation of the Ismaili Imamat

dii-collageAKFC is headquartered at the Delegation of the Ismaili Imamat on Sussex Drive in Ottawa, Canada. We welcome the public into the building on a regular basis for tours and events.

 

Visit the Delegation

The Delegation of the Ismaili Imamat was established by His Highness the Aga Khan, 49th hereditary Imam (spiritual leader) of the Shia Ismaili Muslims and founder and chairman of the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN). A secular facility, the Delegation serves a representational role for the Imamat and its institutions, offering a centre for building relationships, enabling quiet diplomacy, disseminating knowledge and information, while reflecting the wide-ranging humanistic and humanitarian agenda of the AKDN.

Designed by award-winning architect Fumihiko Maki, the building opened in December 2008. The design emerges from the Aga Khan's belief that architecture is not simply about buildings, but about the quality of life of those that inhabit the built environment. The Delegation has received the Governor General’s Medal in Architecture (2012), and two awards from the Ontario Association of Architects: the Celebration of Excellence Award and People’s Choice Award (2010).

Interested in being a tour guide? Email your resume to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . Read the volunteer expectations here

 

Plan Your Visit

The Visitor Program provides the public with an opportunity to explore the Delegation through regularly-scheduled tours, and admission is free. Volunteer guides will be on hand to facilitate open-house visits of the Atrium, the Resource Library, and, weather permitting, the Char Bagh (courtyard garden). Please plan on approximately 30 minutes for your visit. 

Upcoming public tour dates and times are posted below. Tours will begin at the scheduled start time and will continue every half an hour. The last tour will be half an hour before the end time listed below. Due to the nature of events at the Delegation, please note that this schedule is subject to change. Please check this webpage in advance to confirm that the Delegation is open when you are planning to visit.

BOOK YOUR TOUR

 

Groups of 10 or more: Kindly fill out this group form. Your group tour will be discussed when you are contacted by Aga Khan Foundation Canada.

The Delegation is closed for public tours outside of the days and times listed below. If you would like to request a visit outside of Visitor Program hours, please kindly fill out this form. If you have additional questions, please kindly advise AKFC at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 1-800-267-2532 / 1-613-237-2532 – Option #7.

 

MAY / JUNE / JULY 2017
Wednesday, May 3 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 6 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, May 10 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 27 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, May 31 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.

Saturday, June 3

DOORS OPEN OTTAWA

10 a.m. - 4 p.m.

no registration required

Wednesday, June 7 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 10 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Saturday, June 17 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, June 21  5 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 24 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Saturday, July 1 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Wedneday, July 5 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 8 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, July 12 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 15 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, July 19 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 22 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.
Wednesday, July 26 5 p.m. - 7 p.m.
Saturday, July 29 2 p.m. - 4 p.m.

 

Location and Parking

The building is located at 199 Sussex Drive in Ottawa. Visitors are requested to enter by the Boteler Street entrance. No parking is available on-site, but street parking is available in the neighbourhood along Boteler Street , Dalhousie Street, Parent Avenue, and Bolton Street. When parking please take care to respect any posted regulations.

 

Read 66323 times
More in this category: « Our Team Annual Reports »

Join our mailing list

Are you looking for ways to learn more or get involved? Subscribe and stay connected with the latest news and information on global development from AKFC.Subscribe

Visitez la Délégation de l’imamat ismaili

dii-collage

Le siège social de la Fondation se situe à la Délégation de l’imamat ismaili sur la promenade Sussex à Ottawa, au Canada. Nous accueillons régulièrement le public dans l’immeuble à l’occasion de visites guidées et d’événements.

 

À propos de la Délégation

La Délégation de l’imamat ismaili a été fondée par Son Altesse l’Aga Khan, 49e imam héréditaire (leader spirituel) des musulmans chiites ismailis et président fondateur du Réseau Aga Khan de développement (Réseau). Bâtiment laïque, la Délégation offre un centre où tisser des relations, favoriser la diplomatie discrète et diffuser des connaissances et de l’information. En outre, elle reflète le vaste éventail de programmes humanistes et humanitaires du Réseau.

Conçu par l’architecte primé Fumihiko Maki, l’établissement a été inauguré en décembre 2008. La conception est inspirée de la croyance de l’Aga Khan voulant que l’architecture ne se limite pas aux bâtiments, mais qu’elle s’étende également à la qualité de vie de ceux qui habitent le lieu construit. La Délégation a reçu la Médaille du Gouverneur général en architecture (2012) et deux prix de l’Association des architectes de Toronto : le Prix d’excellence et celui du choix du public (2010).


Planifiez votre visite

Le Programme des visiteurs offre au public l’occasion de découvrir la Délégation lors de visites guidées planifiées régulièrement et dont l’entrée est gratuite. Des guides bénévoles sont disponibles pour animer les visites de l’atrium, de la bibliothèque de ressources et, si la météo le permet, du Char Bagh (cour intérieure). Veuillez prévoir environ 30 minutes pour votre visite.

Les prochaines dates des visites guidées sont indiquées ci-dessous. En raison de la nature des événements présentés à la Délégation, veuillez noter que cet horaire est sujet à changement. Veuillez consulter cette page Web à l’avance pour vous assurer que nous sommes toujours ouverts à l’heure et la date où vous envisagez de nous visiter.

 

Réservez votre visite

*Formulaire en anglais

 

Groupes de 10 personnes ou plus : veuillez prévenir la Fondation en écrivant à vCette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser.  ou en composant le 1-800-267-2532.
 

MARS / AVRIL / MAI 2017
mercredi 29 mars 17 h 00 à 19 h 00
samedi 1 avril 14 h 00 à 16 h 00
mercredi 5 avril 17 h 00 à 19 h 00
samedi 8 avril 14 h 00 à 16 h 00
mercredi 12 avril 17 h 00 à 19 h 00
mercredi 19 avril 17 h 00 à 19 h 00
samedi 22 avril 14 h 00 à 16 h 00
mercredi 26 avril 17 h 00 à 19 h 00
samedi 29 avril 14 h 00 à 16 h 00
mercredi 3 mai 17 h 00 à 19 h 00
samedi 6 mai 14 h 00 à 16 h 00
mercredi 10 mai 17 h 00 à 19 h 00
samedi 27 mai 14 h 00 à 16 h 00
mercredi 31 mai 17 h 00 à 19 h 00

 

 

Emplacement et stationnement

L’immeuble est situé au 199, promenade Sussex à Ottawa. Nous demandons aux visiteurs d’entrer par la porte située sur la rue Boteler. Il n’y a pas de stationnement sur le site, mais vous pouvez garer votre véhicule dans le quartier sur Boteler, Dalhousie, Parent et Bolton. Nous vous prions de respecter les règlements de stationnement en vigueur.

Read 62831 times

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d’envoi

Recherchez-vous des manières d’en apprendre plus ou de vous impliquer? Inscrivez-vous et restez à l’affût des dernières nouvelles et informations sur le travail de développement mondial de la Fondation.Inscrivez-vous