The Fellowship for International Development Reporting

Fellowship for International Development Reporting

The Fellowship for International Development Reporting encourages journalists to push the boundaries of daily foreign coverage – which is often focused on disaster or crisis – and set new standards for reporting on the developing world. Fellowship recipients are provided with $25,000 to undertake a substantial reporting project which helps Canadians develop a greater understanding of the complex issues facing the developing world.

The Fellowship has two objectives: to encourage ambitious foreign reporting during an era of tighter news budgets; and, to foster a community of Canadian journalists who share an interest in reporting original topics from the developing world.

The Fellowship for International Development Reporting is a joint initiative of the Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) and Aga Khan Foundation Canada (AKFC).

 

Canadian Association of Journalists Aga Khan Foundation Canada

 

The selection process is chaired by the CAJ, to ensure the highest journalistic standards are upheld. The Fellowship is administered by AKFC, and is funded by both AKFC and the Government of Canada, through Global Affairs Canada.

Applications are now open. The application deadline is September 12, 2016 at 11:59 p.m. ET.

>> Application instructions

Fellowship Guidelines

Fellowship recipients will use the funding to produce a reporting project which provides information, analysis, and insight into development issues facing communities in the developing world.

Any proposed reporting project must fit within these simple parameters: the project should be about a development issue within a developing country or region.

The Fellowship is open to reporters – both freelancers and staff reporters – with at least five years of work experience as a journalist. Applicants must be citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Successful applicants are expected to focus exclusively on their Fellowship project during the period outlined in their proposals, and will commit to publishing and/or broadcasting their project in a Canadian media outlet (English or French) within one year of being awarded the Fellowship.

The journalist and associated media outlet will retain complete editorial control over the Fellowship project. Published work shall remain the intellectual property of the Fellowship recipients, however AKFC and the CAJ will reserve the right to use and share completed projects (with attribution).

Fellowship alumni will be engaged to share observations about their experiences with Canadian audiences through activities such as events or seminars – for example, the CAJ’s annual conference. They will also participate in activities to engage and support other journalists interested in reporting on development issues.

Selection Process

An independent jury, chaired by the CAJ, will evaluate the applications. Committee members include individuals such as senior or retired journalists with extensive background in overseas reporting, editors, media owners, academics and journalism educators, and representatives from non-governmental organizations.

>> Questions? Visit the FAQ page.
>> Learn about our first cycle of fellows.

 

Undertaken with the financial support of:

GAC LOGO ENG

Read 21112 times Last modified on Tuesday, 24 May 2016 20:56

Join our mailing list

Are you looking for ways to learn more or get involved? Subscribe and stay connected with the latest news and information on global development from AKFC.Subscribe

La bourse de journalisme en développement international

La bourse de journalisme en développement international

La bourse de journalisme en développement international encourage les journalistes à repousser les frontières du reportage quotidien à l’étranger, lequel est souvent axé sur les catastrophes ou les crises, et établit de nouvelles normes pour le journalisme en développement international. Les lauréats reçoivent 25 000 $ pour entreprendre d’importants projets journalistiques aidant les Canadiens à approfondir leur compréhension des enjeux complexes en cours dans le monde en développement.

La bourse a deux objectifs : favoriser la réalisation d’un reportage ambitieux à l’étranger à une époque où les budgets alloués au journalisme sont restreints; et créer une communauté de journalistes canadiens qui partagent un intérêt envers le reportage sur des sujets originaux en lien avec le monde en développement.

La bourse de journalisme en développement international est une initiative conjointe de l’Association canadienne des journalistes (CAJ) et de la Fondation Aga Khan Canada (Fondation).

 

 l’Association canadienne des journalistes Fondation Aga Khan Canada

 

Le processus de sélection est présidé par le CAJ pour s’assurer de respecter les plus hautes normes de journalisme. La bourse est octroyée par la Fondation et financée par la Fondation et le gouvernement du Canada par le biais d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

La période de mise en candidature est maintenant terminée. S'il vous plaît regarder ce site pour les mises à jour.

>> Cliquez ici pour les instructions concernant les candidatures.

Directives de la bourse

Les lauréats utiliseront le financement pour réaliser un projet de reportage qui informe, analyse et permet de mieux comprendre les enjeux auxquels les communautés du monde en développement font face.

Tout projet de reportage proposé doit correspondre à ces critères simples : le projet doit porter sur un enjeu de développement dans un pays ou une région en développement.

La bourse est ouverte aux journalistes – tant les pigistes que les journalistes attachés à un journal – possédant au moins cinq ans d’expérience professionnelle en tant que journalistes. Les candidats doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada. Les candidats retenus devront se consacrer exclusivement à leur projet de bourse durant la période décrite dans leur proposition. Ils devront s’engager à publier et/ou diffuser leur projet dans un média (anglais ou français) dans l’année suivant la réception de la bourse.

Le journaliste et le média associé conservent le plein contrôle du contenu éditorial de leur projet de bourse et les publications demeurent la propriété intellectuelle des lauréats. Toutefois, la Fondation et le CAJ se réservent le droit d’utiliser et de partager les projets (avec mention de source).

Les boursiers se feront embaucher pour partager leurs observations sur leurs expériences avec des publics canadiens par le biais d’activités telles que des événements ou des séminaires; par exemple, la conférence annuelle du CAJ. Ils participeront également à des activités pour entrer en contact et soutenir d’autres journalistes qui souhaitent faire des reportages sur des enjeux de développement.

Processus de sélection

Un jury indépendant et présidé par le CAJ évaluera les candidatures. Le comité se compose d’individus tels que des journalistes émérites ou retraités ayant une vaste expérience en journalisme à l’étranger, des rédacteurs en chef, des propriétaires de média, des universitaires, des professeurs de journalisme et des représentants d’organisations non gouvernementales.

>> Des questions? Visitez la FAQ.

 

Entrepris grâce à l’aide financière de :

GAC LOGO FR

Read 30105 times Last modified on lundi, 05 décembre 2016 19:42

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d’envoi

Recherchez-vous des manières d’en apprendre plus ou de vous impliquer? Inscrivez-vous et restez à l’affût des dernières nouvelles et informations sur le travail de développement mondial de la Fondation.Inscrivez-vous