Education

ecd-collage

Every country needs leaders who are equipped with the tools, knowledge and confidence to build a solid foundation for development. To improve the quality of education, AKFC supports programs which ensure better care and learning environments for the next generation, by investing in education systems and the training of teachers across the spectrum of learning - from early childhood to primary, secondary, and advanced education – and increasing community involvement in the planning and administration of schools and education.


“Girls are like birds”: How girls are reaching new heights in East Africa

There are four tall trophies on Yadah Mouzamin’s desk at Nyai Primary School. They are a dull gold and have masking tape labels, the one I can see reading “U14 Boys 2016 Champions.” I wonder what sport, and what the other three say, and whether any were awarded to girls.


Quality education for a bright future

We all have a favourite teacher from when we went to school. They inspired in us a sense of boundless wonder, and motivated us to reach new heights. By engaging with us, we engaged more deeply with our studies. And with their guidance, we learned to believe in ourselves. We learned how to learn.


Two girls, 12,000 kilometres apart

On February 22 of this year, I woke up like every other day. I had a coffee, took a shower, and ate breakfast. Except that day I drove five hours to a small rural town in Tanzania called Kilwa to see how Canadians are improving the quality of education for children in East Africa.


Communities Reading Together for Children

It might look like a plain white metal cabinet. But for children living in this rural village in Kenya, it is a window to the world.

The cabinet is filled with storybooks.


Meet the Toymaker of Kashka-Suu

Recycled wood, a handful of screws, and a few tools – sometimes, it doesn’t take much to transform a father’s relationship with his child. In his rural home in the Kyrgyz Republic, Kurbanaliev Abutalip crouches in front of a makeshift work bench and spreads out his materials: scraps of wood, empty plastic bottles, nails, hammers, screwdrivers, and a saw.


Building a strong foundation for every child

Every child is born with potential. But high rates of poverty, a lack of learning opportunities, poor health, and malnutrition are major barriers to children reaching their full potential. Together, we can build a strong foundation for the next generation by investing in education.


Girls’ Education: Investing in Afghanistan’s Future

Schooling for girls is vital to the future of Afghanistan, which ranks near the bottom of the Human Development Index. Investments in education have been shown to improve development outcomes, while raising women’s income and self-esteem. Despite recent gains, Afghanistan has one of the world’s lowest school attendance and retention rates.


Education is a ladder to climb out of poverty (Pakistan)

In Pakistan, one in three children do not complete their primary education. AKFC works with communities, institutions, and the government to improve education in Pakistan, for both students and teachers. This work is supported by Global Affairs Canada, and is part of the Aga Khan Development Network’s broader work to improve global education.


Making the Grade: A New Chapter for Education in East Africa

According to UNICEF, more than 90 per cent of children in Uganda are now enrolled in primary school, and enrollment rates are similar in neighbouring countries like Kenya and Tanzania. While Acidiri and his Grade 2 classmates have watched their older siblings graduate from seven years at Mvara Primary School barely able to read or do simple arithmetic, Acidiri’s classroom has been transformed through a program to improve education in the region, supported by Aga Khan Foundation Canada.


Gallery: Strengthening Education Systems in East Africa

Primary school enrollment in East Africa has improved significantly, but the number of children in class only tells part of the story. For students to get the most out of school, they need a quality education system with well-trained teachers and staff. AKFC is investing in strengthening school systems in Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda, with the support of Global Affairs Canada.


The Flexible Response Fund of the Girls’ Education Support Program in Afghanistan

In Afghanistan’s rural northern provinces, the barriers to educating girls are diverse and always changing – but often, the solutions are simple. The Flexible Response Fund is a pilot program to support these solutions, by empowering communities to identify roadblocks to girls’ education and develop proposals to tackle the challenge. The fund finances these community-led initiatives, often working in tandem with local education officials.


Bangladesh’s children hold the future in their hands

AKFC works with partners in Bangladesh to improve access to quality early childhood care in some of the country’s most vulnerable communities. This work is supported by Global Affairs Canada, and is part of a broader initiative of the Aga Khan Development Network to invest in global early childhood development.


Breaking the Cycle of Poverty: A Strong Foundation for Every Child

The first years of a child’s life lay the foundation for their future. With the right support, a child’s mind and body will develop to their full potential. But around the world, more than 200 million children do not have the support they need to reach their best. High rates of poverty, a lack of learning opportunities, poor health, and malnutrition are major barriers to children’s development in their early years. Learn how investing in early childhood development helps break the cycle of poverty.

Read 51332 times Last modified on Friday, 27 January 2017 19:47

Join our mailing list

Are you looking for ways to learn more or get involved? Subscribe and stay connected with the latest news and information on global development from AKFC.Subscribe

Éducation

ecd-collage

Chaque pays a besoin de leaders qui possèdent les outils, les connaissances et la confiance nécessaires à la construction d’une base solide pour le développement. Pour améliorer la qualité de l’éducation, la Fondation soutient des programmes qui garantissent aux générations futures des environnements sécurisants favorisant l’apprentissage, et ce en investissant dans des systèmes d’éducation et dans la formation des enseignants de tous les niveaux, allant de la petite enfance au primaire, au secondaire et aux études supérieures, et en augmentant l’implication de la communauté dans la planification et l’administration des écoles et de l’éducation.


Les filles atteignent de nouveaux sommets en Afrique de l’Est

Il y a quatre grands trophées sur le pupitre de Yadah Mouzamin à l’école primaire de Nyai. Ils sont couleur or pâle et portent des étiquettes en ruban-cache, dont une qui dit « U14 Boys 2016 Champions ». Je me demande de quel sport il s’agit.


Apprendre à enseigner

Nous avons tous eu des enseignants préférés lorsque nous allions à l’école. Ces personnes nous inspiraient un sentiment d’émerveillement sans limites et nous motivaient à atteindre de nouveaux sommets. Leurs encouragements nous ont poussés à nous appliquer dans nos études. Et leur guidance nous a aidés à croire en nous. Nous avons appris à apprendre.


Deux fillettes à 12 000 kilomètres de distance

Le 22 février 2016, je me suis réveillée comme tous les matins. J’ai bu un café, pris une douche, mangé mon déjeuner. Sauf que ce jour-là, j’ai conduit pendant cinq heures pour me rendre dans une petite ville en milieu rural nommée Kilwa, en Tanzanie, afin de constater de quelle façon les Canadiens améliorent la qualité de l’éducation des enfants en Afrique de l’Est.


Lecture communautaire pour les enfants

Cet objet ressemble sans doute à une vieille armoire en métal. Mais pour des enfants de ce village rural du Kenya, il s’agit d’une fenêtre sur le monde.

Parce qu’elle est remplie de livres d’histoires.


Le fabricant de jouets de Kashka-Suu

Du bois recyclé, une poignée de vis et quelques outils – parfois, il ne faut pas grand-chose pour transformer une relation entre un père et ses enfants. Dans sa maison en région rurale de la République kirghize, Kurbanaliev Abutalip s’accroupit devant un établi improvisé et étale son matériel : des morceaux de bois, des bouteilles en plastique vides, des clous, des marteaux, des tournevis et une scie.


L’éducation des filles: investir dans l’avenir de l’Afghanistan

La scolarité des filles est vitale à l’avenir de l’Afghanistan, qui se classe presque en bas de l’Indice du développement humain. Il est prouvé que les investissements en éducation améliorent l’issue du développement tout en augmentant le revenu et l’estime de soi des femmes. Malgré les récents progrès, l’Afghanistan a l’un des plus faibles de taux d’inscription et de rétention scolaire au monde.


L’éducation est un moyen de se sortir de la pauvreté (Pakistan)

Au Pakistan, un enfant sur trois ne termine pas ses études primaires. La Fondation travaille avec les communautés, les institutions et le gouvernement pour améliorer l’éducation au Pakistan, tant pour les étudiants que pour les enseignants. Ce travail est appuyé par Affaires mondiales Canada et fait partie du vaste travail du Réseau Aga Khan de développement visant à améliorer l’éducation à l’échelle mondiale.


La note de passage : un nouveau chapitre pour l’éducation en Afrique de l’Est

Selon l’UNICEF, plus de 90 % des enfants en Ouganda sont maintenant inscrits au primaire, et les taux d’inscription sont semblables dans des pays voisins comme le Kenya et la Tanzanie. Bien qu’Acidiri et ses camarades de deuxième année aient vu leurs grands frères et grandes sœurs avoir de la difficulté à lire et à faire des calculs simples au bout de leurs sept ans à l’école primaire Mvara, la salle de classe d’Acidiri a été transformée grâce à un programme visant à améliorer l’éducation dans la région. Ce programme est soutenu par la Fondation Aga Khan Canada.


Galerie : Investit dans le renforcement du système scolaire en Afrique de l’Est

Le taux de fréquentation de l’école primaire a considérablement augmenté en Afrique de l’Est, mais le nombre d’enfants en classe ne dévoile qu’une partie de la réalité. Pour que les étudiants profitent pleinement de l’école, il est nécessaire d’avoir un système d’enseignement de qualité, avec des enseignants et du personnel bien formés. La Fondation investit dans le renforcement du système scolaire au Kenya, en Tanzanie et en Ouganda grâce au soutien d'Affaires mondiales Canada.


Le Fonds de réponse flexible du Programme de soutien à l’éducation des filles en Afghanistan

Dans les provinces rurales du Nord de l’Afghanistan, les obstacles à l’éducation des filles sont nombreux et sans cesse changeants, bien que les solutions soient souvent simples Le Fonds de réponse flexible est un projet pilote qui vise à appuyer ces solutions en donnant aux collectivités les moyens de cerner ces obstacles et d’élaborer des propositions pour relever le défi. Le Fonds finance ces initiatives communautaires, en travaillant souvent en tandem avec des agents d’éducation locaux.


Les enfants du Bangladesh tiennent l’avenir entre leurs mains

La Fondation travaille avec des partenaires au Bangladesh pour améliorer l’accès à des soins de la petite enfance de qualité dans certaines des communautés les plus vulnérables du pays. Ce travail est soutenu par Affaires mondiales Canada. Il fait partie d’une vaste initiative du Réseau Aga Khan de développement visant à investir dans le développement de la petite enfance à l’échelle mondiale. 


Briser le cycle de la pauvreté : Des bases solides pour chaque enfant

Les premières années de vie d’un enfant établissent les bases de son avenir. Avec le bon soutien, l’esprit et le corps d’un enfant peuvent se développer à leur plein potentiel. Mais à l’échelle mondiale, plus de 200 millions d’enfants n’ont pas le soutien nécessaire pour parvenir à leur meilleur. Des taux de pauvreté élevés, le manque d’occasions d’apprentissage, une mauvaise santé et la malnutrition sont de grands obstacles au développement des enfants durant leurs premières années de vie. Découvrez pourquoi nous devrions investir dans le développement de la petite enfance.

Read 51446 times Last modified on vendredi, 27 janvier 2017 19:47

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d’envoi

Recherchez-vous des manières d’en apprendre plus ou de vous impliquer? Inscrivez-vous et restez à l’affût des dernières nouvelles et informations sur le travail de développement mondial de la Fondation.Inscrivez-vous