Health

mnch-collage2

Despite unprecedented advances in global health, citizens of the developing world continue to suffer from lack of access to high-quality, dependable medical treatment and the spread of preventable diseases. AKFC supports a broad range of health initiatives that enhance healthcare institutions and services, train and equip professionals with the skills to provide better quality care, and improve the health of both women and men – with special attention to maternal and child health.


We're celebrating dads around the world

Every child is born with potential… but as children grow, they need the right support and care to make the most of their future. This Father’s Day, we’re celebrating dads around the world who are boosting their children to new heights.


Caring connections: the power of eHealth

When Mavjuda required an ear exam, she paid a visit to Dr. Akmal Abdulmajidov in the small town of Khorog, Tajikistan. If it hadn’t been for the clinic’s eHealth system, Mavjuda could not have received the care she needed. The otoscope used to examine her ear was plugged into the system, and Dr. Abdulmajidov was able to connect and communicate with an Ear, Nose and Throat Specialist at the Kabul French Medical Institute for Children, in Kabul, Afghanistan.


Matters of the Heart: Tackling a cardiovascular crisis in East Africa

East Africa is facing a growing threat: By 2030, cardiovascular diseases are expected to surpass infectious diseases like malaria and HIV/AIDS as a leading cause of death in the region.

Cardiovascular disease is on the rise among the region’s young, working population, and the demand for specialists and treatment is far outweighing the supply.


World Health Day: 4.5 million reasons to celebrate

Four years ago, Laya Hoor took a walk through the village of Ghulmet, on the banks of the Hunza River. The craggy peaks of northern Pakistan’s mountain ranges rose around her on all sides, so high that they skimmed the clouds drifting by.

But Laya wasn’t walking to stretch her legs and take in the scenery. She was traveling on foot to visit her local health worker – in labour with her first child.


IN PHOTOS: Behind the scenes at Bamyan Hospital

Earlier this month, Deborah Lyons, Canadian Ambassador to Afghanistan, and Nurjehan Mawani, Diplomatic Representative of His Highness the Aga Khan to Afghanistan, met with Governor Tahir Zohair and local officials in the province of Bamyan in northern Afghanistan.

Together they discussed development projects in the province, and reaffirmed their commitment to the construction of Bamyan Provincial Hospital.


How a glass of water can be deadly

It’s a simple bond between atoms – two hydrogen, one oxygen. It covers almost three-quarters of the world’s surface. And it’s essential to all living things on the planet.

March 22 marks World Water Day. Most Canadians use water every day without thinking twice: to quench thirst, prepare meals, and bathe. But in the developing world – where clean, safe water can be scarce – these simple daily routines put lives at risk.


Meet the woman taking on one of Afghanistan’s deadliest killers

Najia knows that death is always lurking close to the town of Ishkashim, in the rural north of Afghanistan. She trained for two years to prevent tragedy before it strikes. Her weapons are always close by. And she is proud to be on the frontlines of the fight. But Najia isn’t struggling against an insurgent group or natural disaster. She’s armed with a stethoscope and medical charts.


Building a strong foundation for every child

Every child is born with potential. But high rates of poverty, a lack of learning opportunities, poor health, and malnutrition are major barriers to children reaching their full potential. Together, we can build a strong foundation for the next generation by investing in healthcare.


Healthy Mothers and Children: The Heart of Communities

In Canada, we have the building blocks of good health: nutritious food, clean water, sanitary living conditions, and access to medical care. Around the world, many women and children aspire to the same opportunities for a healthy life. But there are challenges: families often lack the money, time, knowledge, and services they need to stay healthy. Tackling these challenges sounds like a big job, but success is possible.


Breaking the Cycle of Poverty: Healthier Mothers, Healthier Children

Health is a key factor in breaking the cycle of poverty. However, millions of women and children in the developing world still don’t have access to the information and care they need to be healthy. Together, we can help families get the information and care they need to live a better life.


Improving the Health of Women and Children in Northern Afghanistan

Canada and the Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) are working together to improve the health of women and children in Northern Afghanistan, where maternal and child mortality rates are amongst the highest in the world.


AKFC Seminars on Nurturing Maternal and Child Health

AKFC is delighted to launch the AKFC Seminars on Nurturing Maternal and Child Health, hosted in partnership with the Canadian Network for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (CAN-MNCH). This 5-part series of events will explore approaches and strategies designed to strengthen health care in developing countries, with a particular focus on maternal and child health.


Saving a Generation: Maternal, Newborn and Child Health in the Developing World

AKFC, in collaboration with Canada's International Development Research Centre (IDRC) held the 2013 University Seminar Series:  Saving a Generation: Maternal, Newborn and Child Health in the Developing World,  October 20 – November 8, 2013.


Bringing Health and Hope to Northern Afghanistan

AKFC is pleased to announce that our work to improve lives in remote regions of Afghanistan will be profiled through a partnership with The Globe and Mail. Learn how AKFC, working with Global Affairs Canada and our partners on the ground, is implementing practical, long-term solutions that are improving health, creating economic opportunity and ensuring financial independence for millions of Afghans.


Early Human Development: NutritionEarly Human Development: Nutrition

The architecture of a person's brain begins at conception, and is formed by the time a child reaches the age of six. Access to a nurturing environment, stimulation of the mind, and good nutrition throughout fetal development and childhood, shape how an individual is able to learn and respond to future challenges.

This report is part of an occasional series that distills learning and highlights resources around specific development issues.

Read 20255 times Last modified on Wednesday, 16 November 2016 18:40

Maternal, Newborn and Child Health (MNCH) Summit

MNCH

Join our mailing list

Are you looking for ways to learn more or get involved? Subscribe and stay connected with the latest news and information on global development from AKFC.Subscribe

Santé

mnch-collage2

Malgré des percées sans précédent en santé globale, les citoyens du monde en développement continuent à souffrir du manque d’accès aux traitements médicaux de qualité et fiables, ainsi que de la propagation de maladies évitables. La Fondation soutient un vaste éventail d’initiatives en santé qui bonifient les institutions et les services de soins de santé. En outre, ces initiatives forment les professionnels et les dotent des compétences nécessaires pour offrir des soins de qualité, en plus d’améliorer la santé des hommes et des femmes tout en portant une attention particulière à la santé des mères et des enfants.


Nous célébrons les pères partout dans le monde

Tous les enfants naissent avec un potentiel... mais lorsqu’ils grandissent, ils ont besoin d’un soutien et de soins adéquats pour profiter de leur avenir. En cette fête des Pères, nous célébrons les pères qui aident leurs enfants à se surpasser, où qu’ils soient dans le monde.


La technologie au service des soins : le pouvoir de la télésantéLa technologie au service des soins : le pouvoir de la télésanté

Lorsque Mavjuda a eu besoin d’un examen d’oreille, elle a rendu visite au Dr Akmal Abdulmajidov dans la petite ville de Khorog, au Tadjikistan. Si ce n’était du système de télésanté de la clinique, Mavjuda n’aurait pas reçu les soins dont elle avait besoin. L’otoscope utilisé pour examiner son oreille était branché au système, et le Dr Abdulmajidov a pu échanger avec un otorhinolaryngologiste basé à l’Institut médical français pour enfants, à Kaboul, en Afghanistan.


Une question de cœur : répondre à la crise de maladie cardiovasculaire en Afrique de l’Est

L’Afrique de l’Est fait face à une menace croissante : d’ici 2030, les maladies cardiovasculaires devraient remplacer les maladies infectieuses (comme la malaria et le VIH-sida) à la tête des causes de décès dans la région.

La maladie cardiovasculaire est de plus en plus courante au sein des jeunes habitants de la région en âge de travailler, et la demande en spécialistes et en traitements dépasse amplement l’offre.


Journée mondiale de la santé : 4,5 millions de raisons de célébrer

Il y a quatre ans, Laya Hoor marchait dans son village de Ghulmet, sur les rives de la rivière Hunza. Les pics escarpés des montagnes du nord du Pakistan se hissaient partout autour d’elle si haut qu’ils touchaient les nuages. Mais Laya ne marchait pas pour le plaisir ou pour contempler le paysage. Elle se rendait à pied au domicile de sa travailleuse médicale locale, et elle était enceinte de son premier enfant.


PHOTOS : Dans les coulisses de l’hôpital de Bamyan

Plus tôt ce mois, Deborah Lyons, ambassadrice du Canada en Afghanistan, et Nurjehan Mawani, représentant diplomatique de Son Altesse l’Aga Khan en Afghanistan, ont rencontré le gouverneur Tahir Zohair et des responsables locaux dans la province de Bamyan, dans le nord de l’Afghanistan.

Ils ont discuté des projets de développement dans la province et réaffirmé leur engagement envers la construction de l’hôpital provincial de Bamyan.


Lorsque l’eau devient un danger mortel

L’eau : trois petits atomes – deux d’hydrogène et un d’oxygène – retenus ensemble par un lien simple. Elle couvre près des trois quarts de la planète. Et elle est essentielle à tous les êtres vivants sur Terre.

Le 22 mars marque la Journée mondiale de l’eau. La plupart des Canadiens utilisent de l’eau tous les jours sans y penser deux fois : pour épancher leur soif, pour préparer des repas et pour se laver. Mais dans le monde en développement – où l’eau propre et sécuritaire peut être rare –, ces routines quotidiennes simples mettent des vies en danger.


Le combat d’une femme contre l’une des pires causes de mortalité en Afghanistan

Najia sait que la mort guette sans cesse Ishkashim, une petite ville rurale située dans le nord de l’Afghanistan. Elle a suivi une formation de deux ans pour prévenir la tragédie avant qu’elle ne survienne. Ses armes sont toujours tout près d’elle. Et elle est fière d’être aux premières lignes du combat. Mais la lutte de Najia n’est pas contre un groupe d’insurgés ou une catastrophe naturelle. Ses armes sont un stéthoscope et des tableaux médicaux.


Mères et enfants en santé : le cœur des communautés

Au Canada, nous disposons des piliers d’une bonne santé : des aliments nutritifs, de l’eau potable, des conditions d’hygiène et l’accès aux soins médicaux. Ailleurs dans le monde, plusieurs femmes et enfants aspirent aux mêmes occasions pour avoir une vie saine. Mais il y a des défis : les familles manquent souvent d’argent, de temps, de connaissances et des services dont ils ont besoin de rester en santé. S’attaquer à ces défis semble être une lourde tâche, mais le succès est possible.


Briser le cycle de la pauvreté : des mères saines, des enfants sains

La santé est un facteur clé pour briser le cycle de la pauvreté. Mais des millions de femmes et d’enfants dans le monde en développement n’ont toujours pas accès à l’information et aux soins dont ils ont besoin pour être en santé. Ensemble, nous pouvons aider les familles à obtenir l’information et les soins nécessaires pour une vie meilleure.


Les Séminaires de la Fondation sur la santé des mères et des enfants

La Fondation Aga Khan Canada (Fondation) est heureuse de présenter les Séminaires de la Fondation sur la santé des mères et des enfants en partenariat avec le Réseau canadien sur la Santé des Mères, des Nouveau-Nés et des Enfants (CAN-SMNE). Cette série d’événements examine les approches et les stratégies conçues pour renforcer les soins de santé dans les pays en développement en mettant une emphase particulière sur la santé des mères et des enfants.


Sauver une génération : la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants dans le monde en développement  ̶  Série de séminaires universitaires 2014 

En collaboration avec le Centre de recherches pour le développement international (CRDI), la Fondation Aga Khan Canada a organisé du 20 octobre au 8 novembre 2013, la Série de séminaires universitaires 2013 intitulée Sauver une génération : la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants dans le monde en développement. 


Santé et espoir dans le nord de l’Afghanistan

La Fondation est heureuse d’annoncer que notre partenaire The Globe and Mail publiera un article sur notre travail visant à améliorer des vies dans les régions éloignées de l’Afghanistan. Découvrez comment la Fondation, en partenariat avec Affaires mondiales Canada et ses partenaires sur le terrain, applique des solutions pratiques et à long terme pour améliorer la santé, créer des occasions économiques et garantir l’indépendance financière de millions d’Afghans.


Early Human Development: NutritionPremiers stades du développement humain

La structuration du cerveau humain commence dès la conception et s'achève lorsque l'enfant atteint l'âge de six ans. L'accès à un milieu valorisant, la stimulation de l'esprit ainsi qu'une bonne nutrition durant toute la grossesse et l'enfance déterminent la capacité d'apprendre et de faire face aux éventuelles difficultés.

Ce rapport fait partie d'une série occasionnelle qui promeut l'apprentissage et qui met l'accent sur des ressources portant sur des questions de développement spécifiques.

Read 18476 times Last modified on mercredi, 16 novembre 2016 18:40

Sauver chaque femme, chaque enfant : un objectif à notre portée

MNCH

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d’envoi

Recherchez-vous des manières d’en apprendre plus ou de vous impliquer? Inscrivez-vous et restez à l’affût des dernières nouvelles et informations sur le travail de développement mondial de la Fondation.Inscrivez-vous