Rural Development

rural-development-collage

Reducing poverty in remote, resource-poor or degraded environments is central to AKFC’s rural development programs. At the heart of this strategy are village development organizations, which AKFC supports in identifying development priorities, mobilizing local resources and implementing village development plans. This approach began more than 30 years ago as an experiment in the isolated valleys of northern Pakistan - the Aga Khan Rural Support Programme - which was rooted in a simple but potent idea: social mobilization. It has since helped transform the lives of more than a million men and women and is now used as a model around the world, from the coastal villages of northern Mozambique to the mountains and valleys of Afghanistan.


These keys unlock five things you take for granted

These are the keys to a lockbox where 12 members of a savings group in Mozambique are investing their earnings. With the return on their investments, they have been able to make basic improvements to their homes, like a freezer, an oven, a table and chairs, bowls and plates, and a roof that doesn’t leak.


Powering All Communities

We depend on electricity to power our hospitals, to cook our food, to heat our schools, and to run our businesses and industries. Yet, 1.2 billion people, almost one-quarter of humanity, are living without electricity today – mostly in remote, resource-poor regions of the world.

Access to electricity is a key stepping stone in overcoming poverty in rural communities.


Meet Nairobi’s Rabbit King: Urban farming in East Africa

The darkened shed smells of straw and musty wood, thin shafts of light falling between gaps in the corrugated metal walls. Nestled in the palm of my hand is a pink, hairless creature, feather-light and warm to the touch. Its eyes still squeezed shut, this baby rabbit is just one hour old. This is not your typical African safari.

Our colleague Rosemary visited an urban farm in Nairobi earlier this year. Read the rest of her dispatch from the field.


Youth Employment and Leadership in Northern Pakistan

Investing in youth is a key factor in breaking the cycle of poverty, because youth who are trained and well educated are more employable and therefore better able to contribute to overall economic and social development. AKFC – with the support of Global Affairs Canada – works with local partners to help young people develop the work and leadership skills they need to become active, contributing members of their communities.


Breaking the Cycle of Poverty: Sowing the Seeds of Food Security

For most Canadians, a healthy, delicious meal is only as far away as the grocery store. But for millions of people around the world, food security is a daily challenge. With the support of AKFC and the Government of Canada, communities in one of Mozambique’s poorest provinces are taking control of their food security.


Thumbnail image

Building food security and increasing incomes in Mozambique

In Mozambique's Cabo Delgado province, nearly two-thirds of the population lives in poverty. Through a multi-pronged effort, the Aga Khan Foundation is working to enhance food security and incomes for tens of thousands of households. It aims to strengthen agriculture and entrepreneurship, improve nutrition, and enhance community savings, while equipping local organizations to sustain progress.

Download project highlights

Browse the photo gallery

Read 16532 times Last modified on Wednesday, 14 September 2016 15:03

Join our mailing list

Are you looking for ways to learn more or get involved? Subscribe and stay connected with the latest news and information on global development from AKFC.Subscribe

Quick fact: Food security

Did you know?

One square metre of land can provide up to 20 kilograms of food per year.

TWEET THIS

In Mozambique: Building food security and raising incomes

AKFC is working to enhance food security and raise incomes for tens of thousands of households in Mozambique.

Improving food security in MozambiqueDOWNLOAD

Développement rural

rural-development-collage

Les programmes de développement rural de la Fondation ont pour objectif de réduire la pauvreté dans des environnements éloignés, dégradés ou ayant peu de ressources. Au cœur de cette stratégie, il y a des organisations villageoises de développement. La Fondation les aide à définir leurs priorités en matière de développement, à mobiliser les ressources locales et à mettre sur pied des plans de développement villageois. Cette approche a débuté il y a plus de 30 ans comme expérience dans les vallées isolées du nord du Pakistan — le Programme Aga Khan de soutien rural — et s’est enracinée dans une idée simple, mais puissante : la mobilisation sociale. Depuis, elle a contribué à transformer la vie de plus d’un million d’hommes et de femmes et est maintenant utilisée comme modèle partout dans le monde, des villages côtiers du nord du Mozambique aux montagnes et aux vallées de l’Afghanistan.


Ces clés déverrouillent cinq choses que vous tenez pour acquises

Voici les clés d’un coffret dans lequel les membres d’un groupe d’épargne au Mozambique investissent leurs revenus. Grâce au rendement sur leurs investissements, ils ont été capables d’apporter des améliorations à leurs maisons comme l’achat d’un congélateur, d’un four, d’une table et de chaises, de bols et d’assiettes, ou encore de se payer un toit qui ne coule pas.

 


Le Roi des lapins de Nairobi, ou l’agriculture urbaine en Afrique de l’Est

Le cabanon obscur sent la paille et le bois moisi, et les fentes dans les murs de tôle ondulée laissent passer d’étroits rayons de lumière. Recroquevillée dans la paume de ma main se trouve une petite créature rosâtre, chaude et démunie de poils. À peine une heure après sa naissance, ce bébé lapin n’a pas encore ouvert les yeux.  Nous sommes bien loin ici du safari africain typique.

Notre collègue Rosemary Quipp a visité une ferme urbaine à Nairobi plus tôt cette année. Lisez le reste de son reportage du terrain.


De nouvelles occasions pour une nouvelle génération dans le nord du Pakistan

L’investissement dans la jeunesse est un élément clé de la lutte contre le cycle de la pauvreté, parce que les jeunes qui sont formés et bien éduqués trouvent plus facilement du travail et sont ainsi plus aptes à contribuer au développement économique et social. La Fondation– avec l’appui d'Affaires mondiales Canada – travaille avec des partenaires locaux pour aider les jeunes à développer les compétences de travail et de leadership dont ils ont besoin pour devenir des membres actifs qui contribuent à leur communauté.


Briser le cycle de la pauvreté : semer les graines de la sécurité alimentaire

Pour manger un repas sain et délicieux, la majorité des Canadiens n’ont qu’à se rendre à l’épicerie. Avec l’aide de la Fondation et du gouvernement du  Canada, les communautés de l’une des provinces les plus pauvres du Mozambique  prennent en main leur propre sécurité alimentaire.


ThumbnailAu Mozambique : Renforcer la sécurité alimentaire et augmenter les revenus

Dans la province mozambicaine de Cabo Delgado, près des deux tiers de la population vivent dans la pauvreté. En adoptant une approche plurisectorielle, la Fondation Aga Khan (Fondation) travaille en vue de renforcer la sécurité alimentaire et d’augmenter les revenus de milliers de ménages. Elle cherche à renforcer l’agriculture et l’entrepreneuriat, à améliorer la nutrition et à accroître l’épargne communautaire tout en outillant les organisations locales afin qu’elles puissent continuer à progresser.

Faits saillants du project

Galerie de photos

Read 15467 times Last modified on mercredi, 14 septembre 2016 15:03

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d’envoi

Recherchez-vous des manières d’en apprendre plus ou de vous impliquer? Inscrivez-vous et restez à l’affût des dernières nouvelles et informations sur le travail de développement mondial de la Fondation.Inscrivez-vous

Quick fact: Food security

Did you know?

One square metre of land can provide up to 20 kilograms of food per year.

TWEET THIS

In Mozambique: Building food security and raising incomes

AKFC is working to enhance food security and raise incomes for tens of thousands of households in Mozambique.

Improving food security in MozambiqueDOWNLOAD