Health, Nutrition, and Population

civil-society

Despite unprecedented advances in global health, citizens of the developing world continue to suffer from lack of access to high-quality, dependable medical treatment and the spread of preventable diseases. AKFC supports a broad range of health initiatives that enhance healthcare institutions and services, train and equip professionals with the skills to provide better quality care, and improve the health of both women and men – with special attention to maternal and child health.

urban food systems

Building an appetite for urban food systems

Africa has the highest rate of urban growth in the world. By 2030, half of its people are expected to live in cities, up from just over one-third in 2010. As cities grow, their ecological footprint also increases: urban sprawl consumes land and water available for agriculture, even as the pressure on food supplies increases.

[Click here to download in PDF]

ChangingBehaviour inbrief 2015

Changing Behaviour to Ensure Better Health for Mothers and Children

Ensuring healthier lives, especially for women and children, begins at home. Women and children die every day of diseases such as diarrhea, which are easily preventable with better hygiene practices. But how can the health care community spur a change towards healthier practices? Changing traditional behaviours takes a lot of time, effort and contextual knowledge to be successful in any country.

[Click here to download in PDF]

 

eHealth: Finding the Right Solutions for Local Needs

A growing number of practitioners are exploring eHealth – leveraging advances in communications technology to strengthen health systems across the globe. Aiming to promote improved health service provision, especially in difficult-to-access rural and remote communities, these innovations have resulted in a suite of programs from health messages delivered to mobile phones to video conferencing between doctors on different continents.

[Click here to download in PDF]

HealthWorker inbrief 2015

Health Worker Training as a First Step towards Healthier Mothers and Children

The availability of qualified health professionals is central to the delivery of effective health care. From administrative support to medical specialists, every level of staff is key. But many developing and fragile states suffer from a lack of trained staff needed to build a coherent health system. 

[Click here to download in PDF]

 ECDBrief ENGLISH image

Early Human Development: Nutrition

Access to a nurturing environment, stimulation of the mind, and good nutrition throughout fetal development and childhood shape how an individual is able to learn and respond to future challenges.

[Click here to download in PDF]

Read 8588 times
More in this category: Education »

Join our mailing list

Are you looking for ways to learn more or get involved? Subscribe and stay connected with the latest news and information on global development from AKFC.Subscribe

Santé, nutrition et population

civil-society

Malgré des percées sans précédent en santé globale, les citoyens du monde en développement continuent à souffrir du manque d’accès aux traitements médicaux de qualité et fiables, ainsi que de la propagation de maladies évitables. La Fondation soutient un vaste éventail d’initiatives en santé qui bonifient les institutions et les services de soins de santé. En outre, ces initiatives forment les professionnels et les dotent des compétences nécessaires pour offrir des soins de qualité, en plus d’améliorer la santé des hommes et des femmes tout en portant une attention particulière à la santé des mères et des enfants.

urban food systems

Développer un appétit pour les systèmes alimentaires urbains

L’Afrique affiche le plus haut taux de croissance urbaine au monde. D’ici 2030, la moitié de sa population vivra dans les villes, alors que cette proportion se chiffrait à un peu plus d’un tiers en 2010. À mesure que les villes grandissent, leurs empreintes écologiques se font elles aussi plus lourdes : l’étalement urbain consomme les terres et l’eau disponibles pour l’agriculture, alors que les pressions sur l’approvisionnement en aliments sont à la hausse.

[Télécharger le PDF] (en anglais seulement)

ChangingBehaviour inbrief 2015

Changer les comportements pour améliorer la santé des mères et des enfants

L’amélioration de la santé, particulièrement celle des femmes et des enfants, commence à la maison. Des femmes et des enfants meurent chaque jour de maladies, comme la diarrhée, que l’on peut facilement éviter en adoptant de meilleures pratiques d’hygiène. Mais comment la communauté de soins de santé peut-elle susciter un changement vers de meilleures pratiques de santé? Changer les comportements traditionnels nécessite beaucoup de temps, d’efforts et de connaissances contextuelles pour fonctionner, et ce dans tous les pays.

[Télécharger le PDF] (en anglais seulement)

 

Cybersanté : trouver les solutions qui répondent aux besoins locaux

De plus en plus de praticiens explorent la cybersanté, profitant des progrès des technologies de la communication pour renforcer les systèmes de santé à l’échelle mondiale. Conçues pour favoriser la prestation de meilleurs services de santé, particulièrement dans des communautés rurales, éloignées et difficiles d’accès, ces innovations ont engendré une suite de programmes allant de messages de santé envoyés aux téléphones cellulaires, à des conférences vidéo entre médecins sur différents continents.

[Télécharger le PDF] (en anglais seulement)

HealthWorker inbrief 2015

La formation des travailleurs de la santé comme premier pas vers des mères et des enfants en meilleure santé

La disponibilité de professionnels de la santé qualifiés est essentielle à l’offre de soins de santé efficaces. Du soutien administratif aux spécialistes médicaux, chaque secteur du système est indispensable. Mais de nombreux pays fragiles et en développement souffrent d’une pénurie d’employés formés nécessaires pour former un système de santé cohérent.

[Télécharger le PDF] (en anglais seulement)

ECDBrief FRENCH Image

Premiers stades du développement humain : Nutrition

L’accès à un milieu valorisant, la stimulation de l’esprit ainsi qu’une bonne nutrition durant toute la grossesse et l’enfance déterminent la capacité d’apprendre et de faire face aux éventuelles difficultés.

[Télécharger le PDF]

Read 6825 times
More in this category: Éducation »

Inscrivez-vous à notre liste d’envoi

Recherchez-vous des manières d’en apprendre plus ou de vous impliquer? Inscrivez-vous et restez à l’affût des dernières nouvelles et informations sur le travail de développement mondial de la Fondation.Inscrivez-vous